• The Department of Psychiatry expresses their gratitude and extends their best wishes to Dr. Schulz as he retires.



    S. Charles Schulz, MD


  • Congratulations to Professor Jose' Pardo whose work has been included on the Wall of Scholarship.

     Dr. Pardo and other faculty members whose publications have been cited at least 1,000 times were recognized at the Medical School's Distinguished Lectureship event in October.


    Professor José V Pardo, MD, PhD and Dean Brooks Jackson, MD, MBA
    (Photo by Rich Ryan)

  • New research uses magnetic resonance imaging to study the brains of addicts

    Read how, with donor support, U of M scientists are studying why some people have more success battling addiction than others.

    Read the article

    Kelvin O. Lim, MD
    Professor, Department of Psychiatry
    (Photo by Dan Marshall)

The Department of Psychiatry at the University of Minnesota strives to fulfill the tripartite mission of the Medical School: excellence in teaching, research and clinical service.


Teaching is to provide original, stimulating and state of art knowledge to trainees at all levels from the first year of medical school to the completion of post residency fellowships.

Learn more about our education programs


We conduct cutting edge research that leads to a fundamental understanding of psychiatric disease and to the development of new and safe treatments for these diseases.

Learn more about our research

Clinical Services

We provide outstanding inpatient and outpatient clinical care as a base for teaching medical students and residents at the University as well as providing specialized programs for patients and their families.

Learn more about our clinical services