Awards and Recognition


Eating Disorders Research logoScott Crow, MD, and his study team received a grant from the Klarman Foundation titled "Goal based learning and habit in Anorexia Nervosa" for a total of $551,209 across 3 years.  The study will examine the contributions of habit and reward to persistence of anorexia nervosa symptoms.

Carol Peterson, PhD, and her study team received a one-year Klarman Family Foundation Eating Disorders Research Pilot Study in the amount of $149,991 for their project titled “Investigating the Impact of Oxytocin on the Neurobiological Underpinnings of Socioemotional Deficits in Anorexia Nervosa”. Co-investigators on this project are Suma Jacob, MD, PhD, and Kathryn Cullen, MD

Laura Pientka, DO has been selected as a recipient of the 2017 Association for Academic Psychiatry (AAP) Fellow Award. Fellows are required to present at the 2017 Annual Meeting, which will be held in Denver, Colorado from September 6-9, 2017. This two-year award includes an invitation to contribute an article to an upcoming Bulletin, the AAP monthly newsletter. We look forward to learning more about Dr. Pientka's contributions. 

S. Hossein Fatemi, MD, PhD was recently awarded an one-time, $10,000 Innovation Research Grant from the Medical School. These grants support innovative, think-outside-the-box ideas that either: a) challenge current dogma, b) propose a new technology or new approach to a problem, or c) lead to a new discovery. Awards were given to high risk/high reward proposals for which little or no preliminary data currently exists. It is expected that the research will be completed in less than one year. The goal of this grant program is to fund innovative proposals that need a spark to develop into a substantive new opportunity for scholarship and federal funding.

Dr. Fatemi's proposal is titled "Use of Selected Reaction Monitoring Mass Spectrometry to Identify Biomarkers in a Mouse Model of Autism and Schizophrenia".


Anna Donoghue, DO, PGY-3Anna Donoghue, MD, PGY-3

Congratulations to Anna Donoghue, MD, PGY-3 on receiving the Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Award. This award goes to residents who have exhibited particularly strong teaching skills and are role models for their compassionate, relationship-centered care.

Dr. Donoghue's student nominators spoke incredibly highly of her mentorship and her modeling of compassionate care. As a part of this award, Dr. Donoghue will be inducted into the Gold Humanism Honor Society. Read more about the Gold Humanism Honor Society


Ann Haynos, PhDAnn Haynos, PhD

Ann Haynos, PhD, a Postdoctoral Fellow on the Eating Disorders T32, received a K23 from NIMH, "Neural Correlates of Reward and Symptom Expression in Anorexia Nervosa," totaling $837,751 of salary and research support over five years. This study will aim to identify reward biomarkers that predict restrictive eating and relapse among individuals who are weight restored from anorexia nervosa.

Ann recently received the Best Paper by an Early Career Scholar award from the International Journal of Eating Disorders for her paper entitled "Comparison of standardized versus individualized caloric prescriptions in the nutritional rehabilitation of inpatients with anorexia nervosa" [IJED 2016, Vol. 49(1), pp. 50-58; DOI: 10.1002/eat.22469] Winners are honored with a certificate and prize at the International Conference on Eating Disorders (ICED), the annual meeting of the Academy for Eating Disorders (AED).

Congratulations to Medical Student Stuart McCarter on winning second prize in the 2016 Stanley M. Kaplan Essay Contest for his psychiatry rotation paper on REM sleep behavior disorder (RBD) and PTSD. Stuart was a participant in the first VA Longitudinal Undergraduate Medical Education (VALUE) clerkship 2015-16 with Susan McCarthy, MD as his feedback mentor.

Diana Back, medical studentDiana Back, 2nd Year Medical Student

Suma Jacob, MD, PhD, Associate Professor, received an Outstanding Mentor Award from the American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) for mentoring Diana Back in the Summer Medical Student Fellowship Program, supported by AACAP's Campaign for America's Kids. This award was presented at the AACAP's 63rd Annual Meeting in October 2016. Diana is now second year medical student and is very interested in child psychiatry.

In 2013, Dr. Jacob mentored Kelsey Christoffer for a similar research fellowship through AACAP.