Externship Sites and Contacts

Course Director

Lora Wichser, MD
Course Director
wich0033@umn.edu
612-273-9118

Course Coordinator

Serena Sherrell
Medical Student Coordinator
psychmed@umn.edu
612-273-9848

Abbott Northwestern Hospital

Abbott Northwestern Hospital

Department of Psychiatry
Mail Route 11135
800 E. 28th Street
Minneapolis, MN 55407

Maximum number of students: 1

Site Director
Michael O'Sullivan, M.D.
michael.osullivan@allina.com

Coordinator
Jane Otte, RN
jane.otte@allina.com
(612) 863-8619

Onboarding Coordinator
Jackie Wilcziek
jackie.wilcziek@allina.com
(612) 863-4212

Anoka Metro Regional Treatment Center

Anoka Metro Regional Treatment Center

3301 Seventh Avenue North
Anoka, MN 55303-1119

Maximum number of students: 4

Site Director
Randy Ward, M.D.
randy.k.ward@state.mn.us

Coordinator
Anna Chaloupka
anna.t.chaloupka@state.mn.us
651-431-5089

Hennepin County Medical Center

Hennepin County Medical Center

Department of Psychiatry
Blue Building-Fifth Floor
701 Park Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55415

Maximum number of students: 6

Site Director
Amitabh Tipnis, M.D.
amitabh.tipnis@hcmed.org
612-873-7571

Coordinator
Sandy Robinson
612-873-7571
sandy.robinson@hcmed.org

Minneapolis VA Health Care System

Minneapolis VA Health Care System

Department of Psychiatry
Outpatient Mental Health Clinic
Room 1P 154 Box 116A
One Veterans Drive
Minneapolis, MN 55417

Maximum number of students: 4

Site Director
John Lichtsinn, M.D.
john.lichtsinn@va.gov  
612-467-1215

Coordinator
Jay Stephenson
jay.stephenson@va.gov
612-467-1504

Regions Hospital

Regions Hospital

Department of Psychiatry
East Building / Room 301
640 Jackson Street
St. Paul, MN 55101

Maximum number of students: 5

Site Director
Puneet Narang, MBBS
puneet.d.narang@HealthPartners.com  
651-254-1694

Coordinator
Debra Combs
651-254-2774
Debra.J.Combs@healthpartners.com

University of Minnesota Medical Center

University of Minnesota Medical Center

Department of Psychiatry
West Building / Room F256
2312 6th Street South
Minneapolis, MN 55454

Maximum number of students: 10

Site Director
Katharine Nelson, MD
kjnelson@umn.edu
612-273-9851

Coordinator
Serena Sherrell
psychmed@umn.edu
612-273-9848