The Department of Psychiatry at the University of Minnesota offers six fellowship programs.

Addiction Medicine Fellowship

This two-year program focuses on "primary care" aspects of addiction medicine, rather than addiction psychiatry as a subspecialty of psychiatry.

Addiction Psychiatry Fellowship

The goal of the addiction psychiatry program is to train psychiatrists skilled in the recognition, assessment, and treatment of persons with substance use disorders whether alone or in combination with other psychiatric and medical disorders.

Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship

The goal of the Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship is to train child psychiatry fellows to diagnose and treat mental illness in children from infancy through 18 years of age and their families.

Forensic Psychiatry Fellowship

Forensic Psychiatry Fellows develop the skills, knowledge, and attitudes leading to proficiency in:psychiatric expertise in legal matters; systems issues involved in mental health care delivery to forensic populations; and legal regulation of psychiatric practice.

Geriatric Fellowship

The University of Minnesota Geropsychiatry Fellowship offers an ACGME accredited, one year fellowship which emphasizes building expertise in diagnosis and treatment, integration with geriatric medicine and use of a multidisciplinary team approach to care.

Psychosomatic Medicine Fellowship

One year ACGME accredited Psychosomatic Medicine fellowship at the Minneapolis VA Health Care System. Fellows will learn to treat psychiatric disorders in patients with medical, surgical, obstetrical and neurological conditions, particularly for patients with complex and/or chronic conditions.